Instrumental panel problem

Kens

.020 Over
Joined
Oct 8, 2021
Messages
11
Ride
Triumph Rocket 3 2005
Rocket 3 2005. Turn on ignition lights come on, press kill switch, back light on the instrumental panels come on and you can hear the fuel pump, the rest is unresponsive, pull clutch in and press start, all lights on instrumental dial come on ( as they should when you first turn ignition and kill switch on) and rpm dial sweeps, but the speedo dial is unresponsive. The bike will start and run, everything thing works except for the road speed dial. I have checked all the plugs/ fuses that I can see. I noticed that if I leave it off long enough then turn ignition/kill switch on, I get a quick flicker of all the warning lights. Is anyone familiar with this problem? I would check the speed sensor, but don't know where it is.
 

Wdugan9080

.060 Over
Joined
May 11, 2021
Messages
127
Location
NJ, USA
Ride
2008 Triumph Rocket 3 Touring
Look up speedometer not working. It's probably the speed sensor, mine went when I disconnected it without disconnecting the battery first. Go here pinwallcycles.com and get a used one, or maybe cheaper on eBay, oh you are in the UK, I think they ship there, I got one for $65 with guarantee for a year and one for I think $26 on ebay for an extra,a new one is $150 don't think the 05 and 08 are the same, does your signals cancel?? Odometer work?? If not I bet it's that, or a dirty connection.
I cleaned mine like that.
GL
PS mine is a touring 08
Does it have the check engine light MIL, can you read code's, is it saying p1500 speed sensor circuit, sometimes something hits/cuts the wire on the bottom of the motor, it's right behind the kick stand, 2 wire's coming out, there's a way to test them but I couldn't figure it out. But there are people on here that will know, like Warp9, or IDK, and if you need info, manuals and stuff look on idk's signature page, I had already bought the PDF manual,😭


"Speedometer failure | Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums" Speedometer failure
 
Last edited:

Kens

.020 Over
Thread starter
Joined
Oct 8, 2021
Messages
11
Ride
Triumph Rocket 3 2005
Thanks for the info, yes I have code 1500, which indicates the speed sensor! also when I was checking the main plug for the cluster it was green inside and the pin to the purple wire had corroded off, thinking that it must have been the problem, I made a bypass connection, but the problem remains.
I found a sensor where you said, behind the stand, it has 3 wires and a single 8mm headed bolt to hold it in, which I'm testing at present, as shown in the you tube link you sent. Ill have a look on Warp9, or IDK site for a more detailed wiring schematics, as I' pretty much working in the dark without one. Thanks once again. Ken
 

Kens

.020 Over
Thread starter
Joined
Oct 8, 2021
Messages
11
Ride
Triumph Rocket 3 2005
Look up speedometer not working. It's probably the speed sensor, mine went when I disconnected it without disconnecting the battery first. Go here pinwallcycles.com and get a used one, or maybe cheaper on eBay, oh you are in the UK, I think they ship there, I got one for $65 with guarantee for a year and one for I think $26 on ebay for an extra,a new one is $150 don't think the 05 and 08 are the same, does your signals cancel?? Odometer work?? If not I bet it's that, or a dirty connection.
I cleaned mine like that.
GL
PS mine is a touring 08
Does it have the check engine light MIL, can you read code's, is it saying p1500 speed sensor circuit, sometimes something hits/cuts the wire on the bottom of the motor, it's right behind the kick stand, 2 wire's coming out, there's a way to test them but I couldn't figure it out. But there are people on here that will know, like Warp9, or IDK, and if you need info, manuals and stuff look on idk's signature page, I had already bought the PDF manual,😭


"Speedometer failure | Triumph Rat Motorcycle Forums" Speedometer failure
 

Wdugan9080

.060 Over
Joined
May 11, 2021
Messages
127
Location
NJ, USA
Ride
2008 Triumph Rocket 3 Touring
How do I get onto the signature page?
If you're on a phone you have to turn it sideways on his page under member on top and scroll down. GL
Thanks for the info, yes I have code 1500, which indicates the speed sensor! also when I was checking the main plug for the cluster it was green inside and the pin to the purple wire had corroded off, thinking that it must have been the problem, I made a bypass connection, but the problem remains.
I found a sensor where you said, behind the stand, it has 3 wires and a single 8mm headed bolt to hold it in, which I'm testing at present, as shown in the you tube link you sent. Ill have a look on Warp9, or IDK site for a more detailed wiring schematics, as I' pretty much working in the dark without one. Thanks once again. Ken

Yeah the purple wire came off on mine when I was trying to clean it, I just cleaned everything and crimped it back in, it's the constant power with sw off, keeps the memory, I tried testing the sw couldn't figure it out,

"Triumph T1290053 Road Speed Sensor" Triumph T1290053 Road Speed Sensor
Part#29, I searched eBay and pinwallcycle.com and didn't find anything, good luck, I'd send you mine but I've been collecting all the sensors I can get cheap, plus your all the way across the Atlantic wouldn't be worth sending to try and sending back, GL buddy, if you can find someone over there you can try theirs would be nice, took me about an hour just to run the wire back up, GL hopefully you find someone on here if you don't know someone. What model do you have???
PS make sure the wires are clean and not broken, the connections are easy to get to, and disconnect the battery when working on electrical, sensors fry easily 😁 that's how I blew mine.
And if you don't have TuneECU it's cheap, and get the lonelec Cable from lonelec in the UK, it's like $20 for you, I paid $40 with shipping.
Oh and dielectric grease is your friend, just be sparingly on the injectors, I hear they don't like alot 😁, but I slathered everything else.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20211009-113658.jpg
    Screenshot_20211009-113658.jpg
    98.8 KB · Views: 3
  • Screenshot_20211009-113647.jpg
    Screenshot_20211009-113647.jpg
    48.6 KB · Views: 3
  • Screenshot_20211009-113620.jpg
    Screenshot_20211009-113620.jpg
    69.2 KB · Views: 3
Last edited:

Kens

.020 Over
Thread starter
Joined
Oct 8, 2021
Messages
11
Ride
Triumph Rocket 3 2005
I have a 2005 Rocket 3.
I rode it home last year after getting it MOT'd and parked it up and haven't had it out since because of the Covid rules. Uncovered it and polished it up so it was gleaming, then decided to put new brakes pads on before taking it to have this years MOT done, but when I tried to start it I noticed this bloody instrument problem!!!! I tried to get onto Warp9 and IDK pages, but as I'm new to the forum its not allowed, so Ill have to try to get the schematics on ebay or Amazon. I am at the moment making a ecu tester, as illustrated in the you tube link you sent, hopefully (if it works) it will tell me whether the speed sensor is knackered or not . Thanks once again for all your help. Ken.
 

Wdugan9080

.060 Over
Joined
May 11, 2021
Messages
127
Location
NJ, USA
Ride
2008 Triumph Rocket 3 Touring
I have a 2005 Rocket 3.
I rode it home last year after getting it MOT'd and parked it up and haven't had it out since because of the Covid rules. Uncovered it and polished it up so it was gleaming, then decided to put new brakes pads on before taking it to have this years MOT done, but when I tried to start it I noticed this bloody instrument problem!!!! I tried to get onto Warp9 and IDK pages, but as I'm new to the forum its not allowed, so Ill have to try to get the schematics on ebay or Amazon. I am at the moment making a ecu tester, as illustrated in the you tube link you sent, hopefully (if it works) it will tell me whether the speed sensor is knackered or not . Thanks once again for all your help. Ken.

It's not to test or connect up to the ECU I don't think, I wouldn't mess with the ECU unless you're a real mechanic and you know what you're doing, it works on 5v if you hit it with 12v you will be spending over $400 US for a new one, go figure 🤔 look for bad connections first, I hear they normally don't go bad, unless you were disconnecting and connecting with the battery connected, that's what I did, I have a touring and the speedo is on the tank, so I was just removing the tank and forgot to disconnect battery, when I plugged it back in it probably spiked, be very careful testing, I don't think it says to use the ECU, maybe a 5v signal wire from external source??? But I would look for chaffed insulation and broken wire underneath motor, do you know where it's located??? When you're talking ECU $135 for new road speed sensor doesn't sound that bad and if it's not you have an extra!!!🤔 Are you a seasoned mechanic?? I'm not, I'm a shade tree mechanic, operating engineer by trade, I've done a few different trades, 1 year of basic electricity in HS, so be careful, at least it runs good now 🤔
I would even be scared to do that cleaning method with vinegar on the ECU, if it looks clean, they are sealed pretty good, leave it alone, I don't even think I put dielectric grease on the ECU
Look for used or new discontinued parts, I found a few, the disk rotor bolts you can get on ebay, titanium, but you have to replace them all cause the weights are different it will mess with the balance, I bought like $400 in used parts already just in case, I have most of the sensors and the TB's complete., I was looking for a windshield lock, discontinued, so if anyone has a spare hook me up 😁
 
Last edited:

Kens

.020 Over
Thread starter
Joined
Oct 8, 2021
Messages
11
Ride
Triumph Rocket 3 2005
It's not to test or connect up to the ECU I don't think, I wouldn't mess with the ECU unless you're a real mechanic and you know what you're doing, it works on 5v if you hit it with 12v you will be spending over $400 US for a new one, go figure 🤔 look for bad connections first, I hear they normally don't go bad, unless you were disconnecting and connecting with the battery connected, that's what I did, I have a touring and the speedo is on the tank, so I was just removing the tank and forgot to disconnect battery, when I plugged it back in it probably spiked, be very careful testing, I don't think it says to use the ECU, maybe a 5v signal wire from external source??? But I would look for chaffed insulation and broken wire underneath motor, do you know where it's located??? When you're talking ECU $135 for new road speed sensor doesn't sound that bad and if it's not you have an extra!!!🤔 Are you a seasoned mechanic?? I'm not, I'm a shade tree mechanic, operating engineer by trade, I've done a few different trades, 1 year of basic electricity in HS, so be careful, at least it runs good now 🤔
I would even be scared to do that cleaning method with vinegar on the ECU, if it looks clean, they are sealed pretty good, leave it alone, I don't even think I put dielectric grease on the ECU
 

Kens

.020 Over
Thread starter
Joined
Oct 8, 2021
Messages
11
Ride
Triumph Rocket 3 2005
Thanks for the warning. But yes I am a seasoned (retired) mechanic, worked on Wirtgen machinery (which now belong to John Deer) for the last 30 years, which included electrics, hydraulics and general mechanics, however I do appreciate the warning, as no matter how experienced one is, you can still make mistakes. I have removed the sensor from the bike and will test it independently. I have tested the ohms on it and there fine. Ill let you know how I get on. Ken
 
Top